Day 3: General Pharmacology II

What an eventful day it has been! I managed to get through most of the autonomic nervous system pharmacology but I still have the first half of the section to go through (I quickly went through my old notes from med school before making this post) and I also haven’t covered the charts they have at the end of the section. I don’t think 1.5 days is enough for the general pharm section in FA. I’m definitely going to need to work on it tomorrow too, I just hope I don’t end up doing pharm all day. I was planning on doing questions today too but my schedule got thrown off because of the usual issues we have at home.

My plan after I finished my 2nd year of basic sciences was to continue living in that beautiful studio apartment that I had, “hardcore” for a month or two and then write the test. But sadly, things don’t always work out the way we want them to… On a beautiful sunny Sunday, I decided to go downstairs to do my laundry so that I was ready for my last week of classes before the end of second year. I was pumped, so excited. The plan was to hand in my last assignment, hop on a plane to Canada to visit my folks and then return after a two week vacation. I’m not sure what happened, doctors couldn’t figure it out either, but as I was going down the stairs to laundry room, I blacked out completely, fell down a flight of stairs, woke up a few seconds later to find myself on the ground. Long story short, I had to change my plans. I was faced with a broken foot (not gonna complain, could have been more tragic!), which meant that I couldn’t care for myself and to make things even worse, my building didn’t have an elevator….you can imagine how difficult that was. It was probably the most difficult time of my life. It might seem trivial to some, but unless you’re preparing for a test that determines your entire career and life for that matter, you won’t understand. Being bed-ridden meant that I couldn’t live on my own, that my mother or someone had to take care of me. Sure, I had good friends that would come by to check up on me every now and then but at the end of the day, everyone was preparing for the USMLE and the last thing they wanted to worry  about is a girl who coudn’t even walk herself to the bathroom. I ended up flying back to Canada where I was so thankful to have all the support I needed from my family. I mention this story because although I have no idea what I would have done without their help and support, I still think that with all that happened during the time I was here, I think that I could have been ready for the test much earlier had I not been under so much stress due to family issues. I had a solid plan, I was supposed to spend the mornings in my apartment and the afternoons at the library and then gym and repeat. I couldn’t do any of that. I was disabled…

I believe that everything happens for a reason. Perhaps I would have failed the test had I stuck to that original plan…perhaps I would have ran into bigger obstacles back there. Who knows. One thing I know for sure is that I was definitely able to accomplish a lot more when I lived on my own.  And the other thing is living at home with parents after living on your own for a while feels very weird at times. A good friend once told me that “your parents’ home is never your home once you’ve lived on your own for a while”. At the time I just laughed, shook my head in disbelief. She looked at me and said “mark my word”. Little did I know she was right. I still feel welcomed of course, I still enjoy the fact that sometimes on the weekends my mother will cook something delicious and the smell of it will make me forget Uworld, Rx, Kaplan heck sometimes even the USMLE, I won’t deny that. But there are also some drawbacks. I guess it also depends on the family too and how well they handle stress collectively.

I don’t even know why I write about this here…I’m just really frustrated that I wasn’t able to follow my schedule today because of things that I couldn’t control.

On a more positive note, I had some pretty delicious lunch today that I prepared for myself while reviewing muscrinic agonists and antagnoists lol. It  was very easy to prepare, just cut up some veggies, add salt and paper and shove ’em in the oven. I also had some leftover soup and green tea.

photo-10

I think I’m gonna call it a night, I’m tried physically and mentally.

Till next time,

p.s. I found this document very helpful in summing up all the different receptors and their MOA

Hormone Receptors

Leave a Reply

